Know thy neighbor

One day, waiting for zoey outside school, the following conversation happened with another lady who was also waiting for her neighbor.

Lady: you look familiar.

Me: a lot of people say that….I wonder why!

Lady: do you have another child in bay view?

Me: no. I am not a bay view mom

Lady: I thought maybe I saw you there. My son studies there.

Me: oh ok

Lady: what are you reading (looking at the book I was holding)

Me: Sophie Kensella. Easy read. You are also into reading?

Lady: yeah. But with two kids I barely get the time.

Me: I can imagine. Do you live close by?

Lady: not really. I live in phase 8.

Me: oh me too. I live near haq academy

Lady: oh. I live also quite close to haq. What khayaban are you on?

Me: Iqbal.

Lady: big smile. Me too.

Me: oh! What street are you on?

Lady: 34th. You?

Me, almost shocked: aaahhh 34th. Listen, are you Mr X’s wife?

Lady: yes I am. Are you mrs y’s daughter in law.

Me: yes….

Lady: oh, we’ve been wanting to come over for a while, just so caught up.

Me: yes, me and zoey also planned to come to your house to invite you guys to come over….we hear your kids play in the evenings.

Lady: must plan a playdate.

Another lady who was listening to our conversation throughout: listen, we’re you Yusuf’s just acting up to pass time? Or did you guys really didn’t know that you were living across the road from each other…..

One thought on “Know thy neighbor

Leave a Reply

