Who do you go back too?

So, sometime back I met this 30 something single lady, who was surprised to find out that I was married and had a kid. “You don’t look like the kind who would want to go back to responsibility once home” were her exact words. Which got me thinking. After a long day at work, or maybe hanging out with friends, or whatever. End of the day, I look forward to being home. Being in my comfort zone. Being with my best buddy (who also happens to be my hubby). Being back into the role of a responsible mumwife.

On the contrary I asked her…..”who do you have to go back to”? She smiled. And said, thankfully nobody. Being single by choice is different. Being Single by force, obviously is too different. At 30 something, shes probably enjoying her career, vacationing, making and breaking friends, dreaming and aspiring. But what happens at 60 something? Would she still be happy to go back to nobody?  Will her career still keep her happily busy?

I really don’t know. A few years back I was also wanting to be single….forever. Not because I was being forced…it was more because I was a rebel and that’s the kind off lifestyle I was opting for. But obviously God had other plans. Thankfully.

I wanted to ask her if she was happy, if being single was a choice, if she was waiting for her prince charming to come along? But before I could ask these things out loud….she got up to leave.

“Oh, I have a night out plan with my friends. You also must be getting late to go home and take care of the baby na.” was what she said before leaving.

Was she trying to tell me that I was a loser because I had somebody to go back too? Or was this just her way of making herself feel better?

3 thoughts on “Who do you go back too?

  1. Was she trying to tell me that I was a loser because I had somebody to go back too? Or was this just her way of making herself feel better?

    Are you trying to say that ‘was she trying to tell me that she was a loser because I had somebody to go back to’ … ?

    If yes, then – the latter.

Leave a Reply

